Memories: Burhan

Burhan,

 

When I was introduced to you a year and two months ago, I never knew how much you would mean to me. I wasn’t looking for a relationship, neither was I looking for new friendships. I was contented being in my little hole all by myself. Somehow, I fell in love with you along the way and I was scared of what the future would bring. I’ve been deeply hurt before and told myself I would never fall in love again. The walls around my heart were thick and strong so that no one could ever get in but you unknowingly tore them down, little by little.

 

It was midnight on February 15th, 2016 when we were on our usual late night call. We talked about what happened during the day, our dreams and goals. I was falling asleep, contentedly listening to your voice and then you paused. ‘Dea’. My heart began pounding. ‘Yes?’ I replied. ‘I love you’. My heart exploded out of joy and I became fully awake. I inhaled deeply and exhaled a shaky breath before responding ‘I love you too.’ That day still remains clear in my memory. From that day onwards, I became happier than I had ever been. Five days later, we had our first date at the movies. You held my hand and my heart raced.

 

We ran into trouble along the way but through determination and trust we made it. We became closer and stronger. Life tore us apart once but you came back. I knew you’d come back and I’m forever grateful you did.

 

My first day of 2017 was amazing only because I had you by my side. Friends didn’t make it better. You did.

 

February 3rd was the last time I heard your voice. February 5th was the day you left me, left me confused and broken. Today, I’m still waiting for you. I love you no less than the day I first fell in love with you and I will never love you any less. I might be stupid in your eyes for still wanting you, but you mean everything to me. My happiness, my future, my reason to breathe and live, my all. Because of that, I will wait. Even if I have to wait until the day I die.

One thought on “Memories: Burhan

Leave a Reply

