Things I Wish You Knew: Dad

Dad,

 

I don’t really have much to say but I want you to know that I respect you so much. I’m so grateful for all that you’ve done for me and for us as a family. You may not be the perfect dad, but you have improved as the years go by.

 

We have not been close but I appreciate you. It is hard for me to tell you that because of how our relationship is but you have bore so much on your shoulders, experienced body aches, yet you don’t complain about it. You have always worked to provide the best for us, made sure we ate well, took us shopping for special occasions, drove long distances to visit relatives.

 

My fondest memory is when we were young kids, you and mom would get us into our PJs, bring our favorite plushies and pile into the car. You would put on some classical music and we would then go on long drives just for fun so that us kids would fall asleep. That was my favorite part of the day and I always looked forward to it. As I grew older, the way you showed you care changed as well. Once in a while you would come home with bags of snacks. Instead of eating them first, you held back. You also told me that you love my smile and the sound of my laughter. I’m sorry that I robbed you of that. I lost my laughter and smiles when I lost my happiness.

 

You may have really corny jokes and be embarrassing a lot but that’s okay. A lot of dads are. I hate to say goodbye so early but I have to. I cannot bear with the thought of putting you and mom through the pain of having to deal with my depression that will last for a lifetime.

 

I love you, dad. Take care of yourself. Be sure to take your vitamins and treat yourself as well.

Leave a Reply

